Sing, O Ye Heavens: Music of the Moravians

Sing, O Ye Heavens: Music of the Moravians


7 in stock

SKU: CD - SING O YE Category:

Product Description


Bach Festival Choir and Orchestra

This recording had its inception in 1992, when John V. Sinclair stumbled upon two early editions of Moravian music, and phoned the Moravian Music Foundation asking, “Is there any more?” The affirmative answer to that question brought John into what he describes as a “love affair” with the music of the Moravians. Since then he has become the continuing conductor of the Moravian Music Festivals, has conducted first modern performances of over three dozen newly-edited works, and edits anthems as well.

This 2007 recording features the Bach Festival Society of Winter Park, the Rollins College Concert Choir and 20 Moravian singers from around the country. Conducted by Dr. Sinclair and featuring solos by Sharla Nafziger, soprano; Mary Ann Hart, Mezzo-soprano; Keith Alexander Bolves – tenor and David Terry, bass

1. Singet ihr Himmel (Sing O Ye Heavens)
2. Let Everyone Have the Same Mind
3. O Most Gracious, Welcome Child
4. Go, Congregation, Go/Surely He hath Borne Our Griefs
5. Loveliest Immanuel
6. Hail Infant Newborn
7. The Lord Be Mindful of You
8. Blessed Are the Pure of Heart
9. My Soul Knows Purest Pleasure
10. None Among Us
11. Hosanna
12. O Anblick, der mirs Herze bricht (Behold, O There’s a Sight that Rends My Heart)
13. Bethany, O Peaceful Habitation
14. By your Meritorious Death
15. Nun ruht Er (Now Rests He)
16. Glory to God in the Highest
17. It Is a Precious Thing
18. O the Blessedness Is Great
19. I Am the Shepherd
20. Hearken, For I Bring Unto You Joyful Tidings
21. Thou Child Divine
22. Glory to Him Who Is the Resurrection


Additional Information

Weight .4 lbs